Indian Premier League
Read this article on IPL trivia to know some interesting facts about Indian Premier League Twenty20 cricket tournament.


  • The commissioner of the IPL: Lalit Modi
  • Most expensive player in the IPL 2009: Kevin Pietersen ($1.55 million) - RCB
  • The television network that got the rights to show the IPL matches in India: Sony television network
  • The pair of brothers from Australia who played the IPL: David Hussey and Michael Hussey
  • Opening ceremony of IPL in 2008 was held at: Bangalore
  • The costliest team is: Mumbai Indians
  • Bowler Who fetched the most at the IPL auctions of 2008: Ishant Sharma.$950,000
  • Batsman who scored the fastest century of the IPL 2008: Adam Gilchrist. His 100 came off 42 balls against the Mumbai Indians.
  • Highest runs ever scored by a batsman in a Twenty-20 match: 158 by Brendon McCullum of Kolkata Knight Riders
  • The team with which United Breweries Group is associated with: Bangalore
  • The former Indian wicketkeeper who was match refree in the infamous match where Harbhajan slapped Sreesanth: Farrokh Engineer
  • Jai Mehta and his wife are associated with: Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Mr. Lachlan Murdoch is associated with: Rajasthan Royals
  • The Only player from Goa to feature in the IPL 2008: Swapnil Asnodkar
  • Player who struck the winning runs for the Rajasthan royals in the IPL 2008 finals: Sohail Tanvir
  • Number of wickets Sreesanth took in IPL 2008: 19 wickets - he was second in the list of the highest wicket-takers along with Shane Warne.
  • Who are the Knight Riders: Kolkata's Team
  • Team that did not win a single home game in the IPL 2008: Deccan Chargers
  • Team that has as its colors, red and golden yellow: Bangalore Royal Challengers IPL team that has the suffix Royal Challengers: Bangalore
  • IPL team that has the former Sri Lankan Coach Tom Moody as its coach: Punjab Kings
  • The only team in the IPL having same player as coach and captain: Rajasthan Royals
  • First match of IPL 2009 will be on: April 10, 2000
  • First match of IPL 2009 will be between: Rajasthan Royals and Delhi Daredevils
  • IPL 2009 final will be held at: May 24, 2009 at Mumbai
  • The IPL team for which duo Vishal and Shekhar have composed the theme song: Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Aksay Kumar is associated with: Delhi Daredevils
  • Singer Usha Uthup has sung a song: Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Music director of South G.V. Prakash has composed music for: Chennai Super Kings
  • Actress Katrina Kaif is the brand ambassador of: Bangalore Royal Challengers
  • Pacers Aavishkar Salvi and Murtuza Husain belong to: Delhi Daredevils and Kolkata Knight Riders
  • U-19 wicketkeeper Shreevats Goswami played for: Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Matches that were tied in the IPL 2008: 0
  • Highest run - Shaun Marsh (Kings XI Punjab)- 616
  • Most catches - Suresh Raina (Chennai Super Kings)- 10
  • Most sixes - Sanath Jayasuriya (Mumbai Indians)- 31
  • Sohail Tanvir was the highest Wicket Taker in IPL 2008- 22