Here is an account of the performance of Australia in Champions Trophy. Performance of Australia in ICC Champions Trophy was never impressive till 2006.

Australia in Champions Trophy

Australia had been suffering from ICC Champions Trophy jinx. They won everywhere else but never in Champions Trophy. However, they were able to break the jinx in 2006 when they bagged the cricket trophy.

1998 - Bangladesh
Australia was out of the cricket tournament in the first match itself in the inaugural Champions Trophy. They met India in their first match of the tournament. While batting second, they failed to cross the Indian score of 308 runs and fell short by 44 runs. The defeat sent them crashing out of the tournament. A half century by Mark Waugh was not enough.

2000 - Kenya
Champions Trophy in Kenya too was disappointing for Australia. And, surprisingly, it was India again who sent them packing. This time they were beaten by 20 runs. Chasing Indian total, Australia could make 245. Ricky Ponting (46) and Michael Bevan (42) were the major contributors.

2002 - Sri Lanka
Australia blasted their way to semi-finals in 2002 Champions Trophy. They crushed New Zealand by 164 runs and thrashed Bangladesh by nine wickets. However, Sri Lanka stopped them effectively in the semi-finals. They limited Australia to mere 162 in Premdasa Stadium and reached the target with seven wickets remaining. Sri Lankan spinners played a big role in limiting Australia.

2004 - England
This time, it was England which pushed the Aussies out of the tournament. In the first semi-final, England defeated Australia by six wickets. Skipper Michael Vaughan scored 86, while Marcus Trescothick (81) and Andrew Strauss (52) actively supported him. They made 262 runs in response to Australian score of 259. Prior to this, Australia had defeated USA by nine wickets and beaten New Zealand by seven wickets.

2006 - India
Australia wins the Champions Trophy for the first time. In the finals, they bundled West Indies for 138. Under Duckworth-Lewis, they lost by eight wickets. In the Semi-Finals, Australia defeated New Zealand by 34 runs. Ricky Ponting and Andrew Symmonds put half-centuries on board to take Australia to 240 runs. Ponting, Damien Martyn and Shane Watson played a role in taking them past India by six wickets. And they thrashed England by six wickets too.