Learn about the history of South Africa in Champions Trophy. South Africa has always been top contenders of ICC Champions Trophy.

South Africa in Champions Trophy

South Africa touched peak in the inaugural cricket Champions Trophy in 1998 when they emerged victorious. However, in later matches, Champions Trophy jinx caught them and they developed a habit of failing in crucial matches.

1998 - Bangladesh
South Africa was the winner of the inaugural cricket ICC Champions Trophy. The South Africans trounced the West Indies by four wickets after the island team made 245 runs in 49.3 overs. They went past Sri Lanka in the semi-finals by 92 runs and England in the quarter-finals by six wickets. Jacques Kallis remained unbeaten at 113 against Sri Lanka and bagged 5-30 against the West Indies. He was named man of the match in both these matches.

2000 - Kenya
South Africans were shows the doors by India in the semi-finals. A power-packed hundred by Indian skipper Sourav Ganguly put a wall of runs before the Proteas when they made 295 in the allotted overs. They maintained their game and restricted the Proteas to 200. Only Mark Boucher kept pushing for his 60 runs. However, in an earlier game, the Proteas were able to defeat England by eight wickets.

2002 - Sri Lanka
Once again, India took Sri Lanka to the doors. In the semi-finals, India defeated South Africa by 10 runs at R Premadasa Stadium. Saurav Ganguly's determined side made its best effort to defend the total of 261 runs. When batting, South Africa took a firing start with both Hershelle Gibbs and Jacques Kallis making centuries. When South Africans needed 70 runs more, Gibbs retired hurt at 116 runs. India cashed this opportunity to limit the Proteas to 251 runs and leaving them staring at defeat. In the pool games, South Africa earlier defeated Kenya by 176 runs and the West Indies by two wickets.

2004 - England
West Indies became nemesis for South Africa. A Gibbs century remained ineffective against the West Indies as they were beaten by five wickets. For the first time in the cricket Champions Trophy, the Proteas did not qualify for the semi-final stage. However, in a pool match, they defeated Bangladesh.

2006 - India
This time New Zealand and West Indies got better of them. The Kiwis dismissed them for mere 108 runs and inflicted a defeat of 87 runs. In the semi-finals, West Indies defeated them by six wickets. A half-century scored by Gibbs did not bring fruits. However they defeated Pakistan in the tournament and won by 124 runs after a brilliant five-wicket haul by Makhaya Ntini.