Here is an account of ICC Champions Trophy winners till date. Know here about the champions of the ICC Champions Trophy.

Champions Trophy Winners

ICC Champions Trophy has always been a coveted trophy among competitors. Here is an account of the winners of ICC Champions Trophy in the past years.

1998 Knockout Tournament
1998 ICC Knockout Trophy was won by South Africa, who beat West Indies in the final. The tournament was played at Dhaka in Bangladesh. The format was such that if a team lost a single match, it was out of the tournament. Only a team which had won all the matches could win the trophy.

2000 Knockout Tournament
Played at Nairobi in Kenya, 2000 Knockout tournament was won by New Zealand who beat India in the final. New Zealand bagged the winner's check of US$250 000 and it was their first win in a major ICC tournament. Eleven teams took part in the competition. Top five teams according to the test rankings qualified directly for the quarterfinals, while the bottom six teams fought among themselves for the remaining three spots. Zaheer Khan, Yuvraj Singh and Marlon Samuels made their ODI debuts during the tournament.

2002 ICC Champions Trophy
Held in Sri Lanka, the 2002 Champions Trophy was given to Indian and Sri Lanka jointly. The final between India and Sri Lanka was washed out twice bearing no result. Twelve teams participated in the tournament. The teams included ten Test-playing nations as well as Netherlands and Kenya.

2004 ICC Champions Trophy
Held in England, the trophy was bagged by West Indies who defeated England by two wickets in the final. Twelve teams competed in the tournament which was spread over fifteen days. The three venues were Edgbaston, The Rose Bowl and The Oval.

2006 ICC Champions Trophy
Held in India, the 2006 ICC Champions Trophy was won by Australia defeating West Indies by eight wickets. Interestingly, Australia had won the Champions Trophy for first time in 2006. Eight teams competed in this tournament. The venues for the event were Mohali, Ahmedabad, Jaipur and Mumbai.