Get a complete view of all the groups in the ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2009.

T20 World Cup 2009 Groups

Twelve teams will be participating in this year's T20 World Cup. The teams will be divided amongst four groups with three teams in each group. Apart from the test-playing teams, Ireland, Netherlands, and Scotland qualify for this year's World Cup. Ireland and Netherlands were the finalists at a qualification tournament held at Belfast. Scotland won the third place play-off. Hence these three teams have qualified for the ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2009. The ICC Twenty20 World Cup 2009 groups are as follows:

Group A Group B Group C Group D
India (A1) Pakistan (B1) Australia (C1) New Zealand (D1)
Bangladesh (A2) England (B2) Sri Lanka (C2) South Africa (D2)
Ireland Netherlands West Indies Scotland

The top two ranked teams in each group are seeded first and second respectively. The teams are ranked on the basis of their performance in the previous version of the T20 World Cup. For example, India, which finished first in the previous T20 Cup, is seeded No. 1 in its group. Pakistan finished as a runner-up, hence it is seeded above England.

The teams will retain this ranking for the Super 8 stage irrespective of whether they end up being first or second in the group stage. For Example, if South Africa finishes first and New Zealand finishes second in the group, New Zealand and South Africa would still be seeded 1 and 2 respectively for the Super 8s.

If the third team in a group knocks out the seeded team, then it occupies that particular team's seeding. For example, if Ireland knocks Bangladesh out, then Ireland will be A2 for the Super 8s stage.

Super 8s will have two groups: Group E and Group F.

Group E Group F
A1 A2
B2 B1
C1 C2
D2 D1

The top two teams from Groups E and F will qualify for the semi-finals.
Semi-Final 1 - E1 v/s F2
Semi-Final 2 - F1 v/s E2

Winner of Semi-Final 1 v/s Winner of Semi-Final 2