The ICC Women Twenty20 World Cup is on and you did not even know it!!!!. It's time to improve your gyan on the ICC Women World T20 2009.

ICC Women Twenty20 World Cup 2009

The ICC Women World Twenty20 2009 is the inaugural edition of this premier tournament. In fact, the simultaneous ICC Women World Twenty20 is quite a unique feature of the ICC T20 World Cup. The eight team tournament will run concurrently and would have the semi-finals and final on the same day as the men's/main tournament.

Groups The teams have been divided into two groups:
Group A: Australia, New Zealand, West Indies, South Africa
Group B: India, England, Sri Lanka, Pakistan

Women Twenty20 World Cup 2009 Match Schedule/Fixtures

11th June: England Vs India
12th June: Australia Vs New Zealand
12th June: Pakistan Vs Sri lanka
13th June: New Zealand Vs West Indies
13th June: India Vs Pakistan
14th June: England Vs Sri Lanka
14th June: Australia Vs West Indies
15th June: New Zealand Vs South Africa
15th June: India Vs Sri Lanka
16th June: Australia Vs South Africa
16th June: England Vs Pakistan
18th June: 1st Semi Final: A1 Vs B2; Trent Bridge
19th June: 2nd Semi Final: B1 Vs A2; Oval
21st June: Final; Lords

All the group matches of the ICC Women World T20 2009 will be played at the Taunton county ground.

Team Analysis

Australia starts as the clear favourites for the title. Australia won the Women's World Cup in 2005. However, it did finish fourth in the World Cup held in March 2009, despite having a home advantage.
Key Players: Karen Rolton, Ellyse Perry, Alex and Kate Blackwell.

England has home advantage in the tournament. And is the current holder of the ICC Women's World Cup. England lost just one match in the entire tournament and that too against Australia.
Key Players: Charlotte Edwards, Sarah Taylor, Katherine Brunt.

India comes in with an ever improving reputation of a world beater. She finished third in the ICC Women's World Cup in Australia, which included two magnificent wins over Australia. With veterans like Anjum Chopra and youngsters like Amita Sharma, India is poised for a definite leap towards the ICC Women World T20 Trophy.
Key Players: Jhulan Goswami, Mithali Raj.

New Zealand
N.Z lost to England in the finals of the ICC Women's World Cup in March 2009. New Zealand holds the record for the highest individual score in the history of the game.
Key Players: Aimee Watkins, Nicola Browne.

Pakistan finished sixth in the March World Cup and this can be considered a huge achievement. It defeated Sri Lanka and West Indies during the course of the tournament. Pakistan will like to cause a few upsets in the ICC Women's World T20 trophy as well.
Key Players: Urooj Mumtaz, Sana Mir, Nain Abidi.

South Africa
South Africa has had a torrid time in both the men's and women's edition of major cricketing tournaments. South African women would be hoping for a reversal of fortunes.
Key Players: Alicia Smith, Cri-Zelda Brit, Susan Benade.

Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka has won a tri-nation series in February 2009 and reached an Asia Cup final in May 2008. Sri Lanka is in a tough group and has Australia and West Indies as opponents.
Key Player: Shashikala Siriwardena.

West Indies
West Indies could do with a lot more international exposure. She finished fifth in the ICC World Cup in March 2009, in spite of not playing international cricket for almost three years. Hopes are pinned on the Unsurpassable West Indian spirit.
Key Players: Stafanie Taylor, Deandra Dottin.