All about Royal Challengers Bangalore 2020 team players, coach, team slogan/theme song, logo and performance in the previous editions of IPL.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Captain: Virat Kohli
Coach: Daniel Vettori
Owner: Royal Challengers Sports Private Ltd.
C.E.O.: Brijesh Patel
Colors: Red, Golden, Yellow
Team Logo: The logo consists of the RC emblem with 'Royal Challengers Bangalore' in standard format
Ground: M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), a cricket franchise is representing Bangalore city in Indian premier League (IPL) Twenty20 cricket tournament. Under the captaincy of Viat Kohli, this team is coached by Ray Jennings.

Official Song of Royal Challengers Bangalore
During IPL 2008 season, the official song of RCB was Jeetenge Hum Shaan Se. In 2009 season, Game for More anthem was created. The music composer of RCB’s official song is Amit Trivedi.

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Performance in IPL 2008
In this season of IPL, coached by Venkatesh Prasad, team RCB won four matches and faced defeat in ten matches. Rahul Dravid, one of the talented batsmen of the RCB made more than 300 scores in the tournament. The team had faced its worst experience when it had to bench Jacques Kallis, RCB’s costliest foreign player due to his poor performance in several matches of that season. After the final stage of this team’s performance, RCB was placed second from the bottom in the table.

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Performance in IPL 2009
Under the captaincy of Kevin Pietersen, RCB started this season of IPL with a win against Rajasthan Royals. But shortly after its good start, it faced defeat in a few matches. After he left the team for national duty, Anil Kumble acted as RCB’s captain. Under Kumble’s leadership, RCB came back to its original form when it defeated Deccan Chargers. For RCB’s notable performance, it won against Chennai Super Kings. But unfortunately, RCB lost the final by 6 runs against Deccan Chargers. In this match the performance of Manish Pandey deserves special mention as he became the first Indian who scored a century in IPL.

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Performance in IPL 2010
IPL 2010 witnessed the true spirit of cricket through the performance of RCB. In its first match against Kolkata Knight Riders, it faced defeat. Instead of losing its courage, it returned to its form by winning the next four matches . RCB’s performance in these four matches is considered to be the highest successful run chase in 2010 season of IPL and also the second highest successful run chase in IPL history against Kings XI Punjab. Moreover, for its stellar performance, team RCB won matches against the Rajasthan Royals, Mumbai Indians and the Chennai Super Kings. Jacques Kallis and Robin Uthapa, the two dependable players of this team drew the attention for their striking performance in batting. Though the team lost the next two matches, still it reached the semi final level by defeating Delhi Daredevils and Kolkata Knight Riders. At the semi final level, the team performed well at the beginning. But in later stages of the tournament, its performance was not satisfactory. Later, for its sincere effort, team RCB won match against Deccan Chargers and was placed in third place for this IPL season.

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Performance in IPL 2011
RCB’s performance in IPL 2011 season was featured with a six-wicket win against Kochi Tuskers Kerala. Due to its miserable performance, the Challengers faced defeat against Mumbai Indians, Deccan Chargers and Chennai Super Kings. The team management made a good decision when they named West Indian opener Chris Gayle as the replacement of Dirk Nannes during this time. Gayle scored 102 runs against Kolkata Knight Riders and for his praiseworthy performance, RCB won the match by nine wickets. In its next two matches against Kochi Tuskers Kerala and Rajasthan Royals, team RCB won by nine wickets. It won a rain affected match against Kolkata Knight Riders with a 111 run margin win. It topped at the points table after defeating Chennai Super Kings by eight wickets.

In the first qualifier, RCB tried its best to outshine against Chennai Super Kings. But Chennai won the match in spite of losing several wickets and entered into the final level of the tournament. At the next stage of the IPL, RCB defeated Mumbai Indians in the second qualifier and scored 185/4 in 20 overs. Chris Gayle did a commendable job by making 89 runs off 47 balls. RCB’s performance in this match paved its way to qualify for the finals. In the finals against Chennai Super Kings, the Challengers suffered for their poor batting technique and lost the match by 4 wickets. Chris Gayle became Man of the Tournament.

Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Performance in IPL 2012
RCB started its performance in 2012 IPL season without Chris Gayle and Sreenath Aravind on account of their injury. Still the team won at the beginning of this season against Delhi Daredevils for the outstanding performance of AB de Villiers and Muttiah Muralitharan. But for its poor performance, RCB lost three matches. When Gayle joined the team after his recovery, team RCB regained its form and won match against Pune Warriors. Gayle showed his cricket expertise in a match held in Mohali by winning it. Due to combined effort of Villers, Tilakaratne Dilshan and KP Apanna, team RCB won another match in Jaipur.  On account of a washed out match against Chennai Super Kings, RCB missed the opportunity to earn 2 points. After its subsequent defeat in two matches, team RCB went through tough competition against Rajasthan Royals, Chennai Super Kings and Kings XI Punjab. During this time, the team suffered a lot due to weak performance of several of its players.

The team came back to its original form when they won match against Deccan Chargers. In later stage of this season, RCB faced tough competition with Chennai Super Kings for the final play-off slot. Poor batting performance of RCB led it towards failure in the final game of the season.
Chris Gayle who scored 733 runs at 61.08 with 7 fifties along with 1 hundred and a strike rate of 160.74, became the highest run scorer of the tournament. Vinay Kumar, who took 19 wickets from 17 matches, became the 5th highest wicket taker.

Royal Challengers Bangalore 2020 Team Players

  1. Virat Kohli (Capt.)
  2. AB de Villiers (wk)
  3. Gurkeerat Mann
  4. Devdutt Padikkal
  5. Aaron Finch
  6. Yuzvendra Chahal
  7. Mohammed Siraj
  8. Umesh Yadav
  9. Navdeep Saini
  10. Kane Richardson
  11. Dale Steyn
  12. Isuru Udana
  13. Moeen Ali
  14. Pawan Negi
  15. Shivam Dube
  16. Washington Sundar
  17. Chris Morris
  18. Pavan Deshpande<
  19. Parthiv Patel (wk)
  20. Joshua Philippe
  21. Shahbaz Ahamad