All about Kings XI Punjab 2020 team players, coach, team slogan/theme song, logo and performance in the previous editions of IPL.

Kings XI Punjab

Captain: Lokesh Rahul
Coach: Sanjay Bangar
Owners: KPH Dream Cricket Private Limited (Ness Wadia and Priety Zinta)
C.E.O.: Anil Srivatsa
Brand Ambassador: Daler Mehndi
Colors: Light Grey & Red
Team Logo: Light Grey Shield with two lion heads made with red and the team's name written in bold red font
Home Ground: PCA Stadium, Mohali and Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur

Kings XI Punjab

Kings XI Punjab is a Mohali based cricket team representing Punjab in the Indian Premier League. Australian T20 captain George Bailey is the team’s current captain while the coach is Darren Lehmann, another legendary Australian player.

Kings XI Punjab’s Performance in IPL 2008
The team lost the first two games of the tournament, before finally winning the third one aided by a 94-run knock by Kumar Sangakkara. After having found its hold, the team went on to win 9 of its next 10 matches, securing a place in the semi-finals. In the semi-final, however, their form hit a downward spiral as they collapsed to a 9 wicket loss against the Chennai Super Kings.

Kings XI Punjab’s Performance in IPL 2009
Kings XI Punjab started off to a bad start in the IPL 2009 as well. The team could not acquire most of the Australian players of the past season, and it showed in their performance.  The team lost badly to the Delhi Daredevils and the Kolkata Knight Rider before they managed a win over the Royal Challengers. They also managed to defeat Rajasthan Royals and the Mumbai Indians, but could not maintain their hold over the tournament. A loss to Chennai Super Kings in their last match crushed any hopes of reaching the semi-finals in the season.

Kings XI Punjab’s Performance in IPL 2010
Kings XI Punjab performed miserably in the 2010 season. The team lost six matches against Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Daredevils, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Deccan Chargers, Rajasthan Royals and Mumbai Indians. The team did manage a win against Chennai Super Kings, but overall their performance was shoddy. In the 2010 season, the team lost 10 matches while winning only 4.

Kings XI Punjab’s Performance in IPL 2011
Before the starting of the IPL 2011 season, the participation of the Kings XI Punjab team seemed doubtful due to certain legal issues. However the issues were sorted out and a seemingly strong team was bought. Prolific Australian batsman Adam Gilchrist was made the captain while Michael Bevan was appointed as coach. This was the first time Adam Gilchrist was made a part of this team; he played for Deccan Chargers in the previous season. Kings XI Punjab lost their first match before going on to win the next three. Then they again went on a downward spiral and lost 5 matches in a row. Then they won the next 4 matches before losing the final one. They could not even qualify for the semi-finalist stage.

Kings XI Punjab’s Performance in IPL 2012
In 2012, the team again played under the captaincy of Adam Gilchrist. In this season, each team had to play home and away matches with other teams in the league. Kings Xi Punjab lost their first two away matches to Rajasthan Royals and Pune Warriors. The won against Pune Warriors at home beat Kolkata Knight Riders at the away match. But then injury struck Adam Gilchrist and David Hussey was made the captain in his absence. The team managed to secure 5 wins in their next 7 matches, keeping alive the hopes of reaching the semi-finals. Adam Gilchrist returned for the penultimate game which the team won. But they lost their last match which dashed their hopes of reaching the semi-finals.

Kings XI Punjab 2020 Team Players

  1. KL Rahul (Capt. & wk)
  2. Chris Gayle
  3. Mayank Agarwal
  4. Karun Nair
  5. Sarfaraz Khan
  6. Mandeep Singh
  7. Sheldon Cottrell
  8. Ishan Porel
  9. Ravi Bishnoi
  10. Mohammed Shami
  11. Mujeeb ur Rahman
  12. Arshdeep Singh
  13. Hardus Viljoen
  14. M Ashwin
  15. J Suchith
  16. Harpreet Brar
  17. Darshan Nalkande
  18. Glenn Maxwell
  19. James Neesham
  20. Chris Jordan
  21. Krishnappa Gowtham
  22. Deepak Hooda
  23. Tajinder Singh Dhillon
  24. Nicholas Pooran
  25. Prabhsimran Singh