All about Pune Warriors India 2013 team players, coach, team slogan/theme song, logo and performance in the previous editions of IPL.

Pune Warriors India

Captain: Angelo Mathews
Coach: Allan Donald
Owner: Sahara India Pariwaar
CEO: Subrata Roy
Colors: Turquoise Blue, Silver
Team Logo: Spear wielding warrior riding a stallion, with team's name beside it
Home Ground: Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium

Pune Warriors

Pune Warriors India, a cricket franchise representing Pune, Maharashtra in Indian Premier League (IPL) Twenty20 cricket tournament. Under the captaincy of Angelo Mathews, this team is coached by the South African bowling coach, Allan Donald.

Official Song Of Pune Warriors India
The official theme song of Pune Warriors India, for IPL 2013, is Sahara Pranam. It is sung by the famous singer, Shankar Mahadevan. The song talks about the world wide fame of the team, yet their humility and sincerity towards the mother nation. It focuses on their aim to be the ultimate winners.

Pune Warriors India’s Performance In IPL 2011
The team at the time had top notch inational and international cricketers, like : Yuvraj Singh, Robin Uthappa, Jesse Ryder, Angelo Mathews, Murali Kartik, Ashish Nehra, Graeme Smith, etc. The team also included some uncapped players, played for the earlier franchises, like: Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Mithun Manhas, Mohnish Mishra Ganesh Gaikwad and Kamran Khan.Yuvraj sing was leading the team for 2011 India Premier League, as the captain. The warriors made a successful start by defeating Kings XI Punjab and Kochi Tuskers Kerala on the home grounds. On 3 May 2011, Sourav Ganguly was hired by the team, as areplacement to the injured Ashish Nehra. Overall, Pune warriors India won 4 matches (twice against Kings XI Punjab, Kochi Tuskers Kerala and Deccan Chargers) out of 14 matches, with one match against Delhi Daredevils abandoned but to rain. It finished at the 9th rank out of total 10 teams.

Pune Warrior India’s Performance in IPL 2012
Pune warriors India was in much limelight during the Indian Premier League 2012, for its controversial withdrawl from IPL 2012, just hours before the league was to start. This blew over BCCI. On 6 Feburary 2012, Subrata Roy, the owner of the team, made it Saurav Ganguly’s call whether or not to reconcile with BCCI. On 16 Feburary 2012, both the parties reconciled and announced that the Pune Warriors India will play in Indian Premier League 2012. The team included newly bought international and Indian cricketers, like: Marlon Samuels, Luke Wright, Steve Smith, Tamim Iqbal, Michael Clark, Raiphi Gomez, Ali Murtaza, Ashok Dinda, Anustup Majumdar, Mahesh Rawat, etc. The Pune Warriors India’s first match during the IPL 2012 was against the last season’s 3rd ranked team, the Mumbai Indians, which was popularized as the match between two famous cricket legends of India and good friends Sourav Ganguly and Sachin Tendulkar, at the Wankhede. Unfortunately, Sachin Tendular missed that match due to an injury suffered by him during the first match of IPL 2012, against the Chennai Super Kings. Overall, Pune Warriors won 4 matches (against Mumbai Indians, Kings XI Punjab, Delhi Daredevils and Chennai Super Kings) out of 12 matches. It finished last among all teams.

Pune Warriors India In IPL 2013
For this year’s Indian Premier League, Pune Warrior’s India will keep Steve Smith, Tamim Iqbal, Marlon Samuels and Luke Wright, but will let go of Michael Clarke, Callum Ferguson, Alfonso Thomas and Jesse Ryder. Sourav Ganguly has retired from Indian Premier League and left the franchise captain-less. Yuvraj Singh made an entry back into the team and veteran fast bowler Ashish Nehra was traded for Delhi Daredevil’s former New Zealand skipper Ross Taylor. Angelo Mathwes, Sri Lankan Test and ODI skipper, was signed as the captain of the team by the franchise, on 28 March 2013.

Pune Warriors India 2013 Team Players

  1. Tirumalasetti Suman
  2. Ross Taylor
  3. Harpreet Singh
  4. Michael Clarke
  5. Tamim Iqbal
  6. Anustup Majumdar
  7. Mithun Manhas
  8. Manish Pandey
  9. Marlon Samuels
  10. Aaron Finch
  11. Udit Birla
  12. Dheeraj Jadhav
  13. Luke Wright
  14. Yuvraj Singh
  15. Mitchell Marsh
  16. Abhishek Nayar
  17. Steve Smith
  18. Angelo Mathews (C)
  19. Parvez Rasool
  20. Raiphi Gomez
  21. Robin Uthappa
  22. Mahesh Rawat
  23. Eklavya Dwivedi
  24. Ashok Dinda
  25. Rahul Sharma
  26. Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  27. Shrikant Wagh
  28. Krishnakant Upadhyay
  29. Ali Murtaza
  30. Ajantha Mendis
  31. Kane Richardson
  32. Wayne Parnell
  33. Ishwar Pandey