All about Mumbai Indians 2020 team players, coach, team slogan/theme song, logo and performance in the previous editions of IPL.

Mumbai Indians

Captain: Rohit Sharma
Coach: Ricky Ponting
Owner: Reliance Industries Limited
CEO: Nita Ambani
Color: Blue, White, and Golden
Team Logo: Sudarshana Chakra with team's name engraved on it
Home Grounds: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Mumbai Indians

The Mumbai Indians team represents the Maharastrian city of Mumbai and is one of the original eight franchises of the Indian Premier League. The team’s current captain is Rohit Sharma. The team is coached by John Wright, someone who had previously coached the Indian national cricket team.

Mumbai Indians’ Performance in IPL 2008
The team got off to a shaky start as the captain Sachin Tendulkar was ruled out of the initial matches because of an injury. Under the temporary captaincy of Harbhajan Singh, Mumbai Indians lost the first 5 matches of the tournament. When Harbhajan was suspended because of a controversy, Shaun Pollock had to assume captaincy till Sachin returned. Out of the 14 matches played, the team won 7 and lost 7. The team could not establish a firm foothold in the tournament and its performance lacked in consistency. Shaun Pollock and Sanath Jayasuriya played vital roles in the team’s victories.

Mumbai Indians’ Performance in IPL 2009
Many changes were brought to the team in 2009 as some new players were signed in, and some players were exchanged with other teams. Mumbai Indians won its first match against Chennai Super Kings. It could not however maintain the momentum of the victory and collapsed later in the season with successive defeats. By the end of the season, it ended up in the bottom two at the points table.

Mumbai Indians’ Performance in IPL 2010
This was the best season the Mumbai Indians have had so far. The team began the season with two resounding wins against Rajasthan Royals and Delhi Daredevils. The team was boosted by brilliant performances by Sachin Tendulkar, Saurabh Tiwary, Harbhajan Singh, Shikar Dhawan, etc. It won matches against Kolkata Knight Riders, Chennai Super kings, Deccan Chargers, Kings XI Punjab and Delhi Daredevils. Mumbai Indians easily cruised to the semi-finals and comfortably defeated its opponents Royal Challengers Bangalore. But the team faltered at the final and lost the match to Chennai super Kings. Sachin Tendulkar was at the top of his form during 2010 and had amassed a total of 618 runs in the tournament. He won the ‘Best Batsman’ and the ‘Best captain’ awards for his contribution to the tournament.  He was also awarded the Orange Cap for being the highest run-getter of that season.

Mumbai Indians’ Performance in IPL 2011
The team started off on a positive note by defeating Delhi Daredevils in its very first match. It also won its next match against Royal Challengers Bangalore comfortably. It lost its third match, but however bounced back with consecutive wins over Pune Warriors India, Chennai Super Kings, and Deccan Chargers. Sachin Tendulkar once again proved his mettle by scoring 513 runs from 10 matches played. Mumbai Indians had been very consistent in its performance in this season. Sachin, along with other players like Lasith Malinga, James Franklin, Aiden Blizzard, etc. gave blazing performances to take Mumbai Indians to the semi-finals for the second consecutive season. But Mumbai Indians lost to Royal Challengers Bangalore in the semi-final round.

Mumbai Indians’ Performance in IPL 2012
Sachin Tendulkar declared his decision to step down from captaincy and Harbhajan Singh was made the captain of the team for this season. The team started off well and defeated Chennai Super Kings in its first match. It played consistently and went on to win 10 matches out of 16 played. Mumbai Indians managed to enter the semi-finals but was beaten by its opponent Chennai Super Kings.

Mumbai Indians 2020 Team Players

  1. Rohit Sharma (Capt.)
  2. Sherfane Rutherford
  3. Suryakumar Yadav
  4. Anmolpreet Singh
  5. Chris Lynn
  6. Saurabh Tiwary
  7. Dhawal Kulkarni
  8. Jasprit Bumrah
  9. Lasith Malinga
  10. Mitchell McClenaghan
  11. Rahul Chahar
  12. Trent Boult
  13. Mohsin Khan
  14. Fabian Allen
  15. Prince Balwant Rai Singh
  16. Digvijay Deshmukh
  17. Hardik Pandya
  18. Jayant Yadav
  19. Kieron Pollard
  20. Krunal Pandya
  21. Anukul Roy
  22. Nathan Coulter-Nile
  23. Ishan Kishan (wk)
  24. Quinton de Kock (wk)
  25. Aditya Tare (wk)